Honey Lake Valley Resource Conservation District (RCD) and the Susan River Watermaster Service

Division 9 of the California Public Resources Code (PRC) defines the State’s framework for conducting the business of resource conservation within California.  A central component of Division 9 is its authorization for Resource Conservation District’s (RCD’s) to be formed for the purpose of addressing local resource conservation needs.  Particular emphasis is placed upon the conservation of soil and water resources.   In 1954, the Lassen County Board of Supervisors established the Honey Lake Valley Resource Conservation District through Resolution #394 in accordance with the provisions of Division 9 of the PRC.

The Honey Lake Valley Resource Conservation District (RCD) was appointed as Watermaster for the Susan River Watermaster Service Area (SRWSA) by Lassen County Superior Court in 2008.  This appointment was made at the request of water users within the SRWSA to increase local control and accountability for the service, which until 2008 was administered by the California Department of Water Resources (DWR).

The Honey Lake Valley RCD has a five member Board that directs the business of the RCD.  This Board meets on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 3:30 p.m. at the USDA Service Center, 170 Russell Ave., Suite C, Susanville, CA 96130.  The next meeting is on March 23, 2016.

The RCD Board has a Watermaster Advisory Committee (WAC) consisting of agricultural producers that provides recommendations regarding the administration of the Susan River Watermaster Service.  This committee meets on the second Thursday of every month at 5:30 p.m. at the USDA Service.